The Homeland

Spent the past week in Sweden, scored some decent weather and ate a lot of fika.  It started in Malmö where a few friends and I recovered from a vicious Copenhangover.  I drank one beer for over $15 USD and got some work finished in the Orkanen Library before I continued my trip up the west coast to meet Per and Helena in Halmstad.

View from the library in Malmö
View from the library in Malmö

The train ride was beautiful and actually spent some time reading for pleasure.

Swedish coast.
Swedish coast.

Lasse was waiting at the station for me and we went to his new place just down the road from where Per lives.  We ate fika, which I would later find out is the primary food group in Sweden and consisted of bread, coffee, and cold cuts.  It was an entire 10 minutes before the family history began.

Karin and Lasse doing as they do best, teaching.
Karin and Lasse doing as they do best, teaching.

The evening was spent at Per and Helena’s eating salmon, drinking glugg, and catching up.

Cousin time.
Cousin time.

Thursday started early and we were off to the birthplace of Thyra, as well as many generations before her.  We had fika and I heard all about a few cousins (Erik- 29, Anders- 27, and a daughter whose name I forget- 14) I did not know existed.  They look fun and the older ones and I are currently making plans to meet in London for a couple days.  It was a very beautiful region, unfortunately I have confused all the names of the places we visited.

Mona, Elly, Katarina
Mona, Elly, Katarina
Proof that the trip happened.
Proof that the trip happened.
The church and cemetery of that our family has attended and has been buried at for the last few generations.  Katarina has been managing it.
The church and cemetery of that our family has attended and has been buried at for the last few generations. Katarina has been managing it.
The house and birthplace of Farmor.
The house and birthplace of Farmor.

In the evening Per and I biked over to Josephine’s place for more fika and to meet her family.  Her husband Frederick was chill and her kids seem as if they would get along with the Glassen kids perfectly. Sorry no pictures :/

On Friday Per and I took the train to Göteborg for the weekends festivities.  We met Anders and Gunnar for coffee while Goran was finishing up at work.

Gunnar
Gunnar

We were all together by 14.00 and there was only one reasonable thing to do, get a beer.

8 years in the making.
8 years in the making.
Anders and Per
Anders and Per

That night we watched Sweden lose to Portugal 1-0 in the first of two qualifying games for the word cup.

In morning we woke up, had breakfast, then Goran casually mentioned that his girlfriend Evelyna was three months pregnant.

They wanted me to make sure everyone knew this was first thing in the AM.
They wanted me to make sure everyone knew this was first thing in the AM (Still in PJ’s).

We spent the day at a Porter festival that featured beer from all over the world.  We took it easy that night and just hung out.  It was great to see the cousins (and a few of their friends) in their natural habitat.

Somewhere along the trip I realized I left my passport in Malmö so I am writing this from Copenhagen.  Huge bummer 😉

3 thoughts on “The Homeland

  1. E,
    What a great way to share your trip! We loved the photos and your journaling! Hamra is so beautiful! Ellie is so sweet! As you know, she is Mormor’s brother’s wife! Can you believe that that house is older than California being a state!!!!! (Bad sentence!…but you know what I mean! ) I love that people in Europe live in such wonderful old places! Keep us updated! Your blog is great!
    We also loved your great email about London. We were in France at the time, and our river boat had very limited wifi so I could never respond to you! We were actually so close to you, but couldn’t connect!
    Keep having fun and thanks for the great post!
    Gitta and Lorbs

Leave a Reply

